Office of the Consumer Advocate

PO Box 23135 Terrace on the Square St. John's, NL Canada A1B 4J9

Tel: 709-724-3800 Fax: 709-754-3800

October 16, 2023

<u>Via Email</u>

The Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Prince Charles Building 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

Attention: Jo Galarneau, Executive Director and Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Galarneau:

Re: Newfoundland Power Inc. - 2024 Capital Budget Application Request for Filing Extension to File a Request for Oral Hearing

The response of October 16, 2023, is acknowledged. The Board makes reference to the absence of an explanation for a further delay in the schedule, which we requested be moved to Monday, October 23, 2023.

Prior to and also in the last week, our office was hit by Covid, which affected our productivity. Further, we became aware over the weekend that the Excel files for CA-195 and CA-196 had not been uploaded to the stranded site—this oversight was promptly corrected this morning by Newfoundland Power.

Also, the revised schedule of October 3, 2023, required NP to file its responses to our further RFIs on Wednesday, October 11, 2023. On Monday, October 16, 2023, we were required to file a Request for an Oral Hearing. This tight time frame barely allowed a sufficient period to study Newfoundland Power's responses to our further RFIs—let alone time to prepare our Request for an Oral Hearing. Clearly, this revised schedule was unreasonable to begin with.

Given all of the circumstances, we require that the filing date for the Request for a Hearing be moved to on or before Monday, October 23, 2023.

We look forward to your further reply.

Yours truly,

Dennis Browne.

Consumer Advocate

/jm

cc

Newfoundland Power Inc. Dominic J. Foley (dfoley@newfoundlandpower.com) Liam O'Brien, (lobrien@curtisdawe.com) NP Regulatory (regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com) Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro Shirley Walsh (ShirleyWalsh@nlh.nl.ca) NLH Regulatory (nlhregulatory@nlh.nl.ca) Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities PUB Official Email (ito@pub.nl.ca) Colleen Jones (cjones@pub.nl.ca) Jacqui Glynn (jglynn@pub.nl.ca) Maureen Greene (mgreene@pub.nl.ca) Cheryl Blundon (cbludon@pub.nl.ca)